Awkward.

I’m currently watching AWKWARD., the MTV show, because I only saw a few episodes now and then and started to like the characters. AWKWARD is not the only TV show that portrays teenagers‘ life in American High Schools and no matter the format, for foreign people it seems that there is a lot of bullying going on in High Schools. Without knowing whether it is true or not, you might think that there will be „stronger“ and „weaker“ groups of students and clichéd cliques like the sporty ones, the smart ones etc.

In AWKWARD, Jenna gets a letter. The writer tells her that she doesn’t stick out enough and what she should do to be „cooler“. What do you think about the tips? Why do we have to try to be cooler than others?

letter jenna hammilton mtv awkward

Currently, I am making a few new friends that I have avoided in my teenage life, which makes me think about why everyone’s trying to be as cool as could be. When I was at school, it was so important who your friends were and who you were hanging out with. Maybe this is exactly what is making teenage life so complicated. You don’t really know where you belong, so you try to stick to the others to not be left out.

Reconsidering, I know that I should have stood up for myself more often. To speak up against your friends may be the hardest thing in the world, but it isn’t better if you don’t. And the advise that I was able to implement in university is: Always be your own kind of cool. To mix that up with a kitschy quote: You should rather be yourself than a bad copy of someone else.

I really know that now and believe that you can look beyond social status to be friends with someone. If anyone treats me worse because I am friends with someone else (as well), screw them. My friends are the people I choose to be in my life. That’s why I feel really sorry to have made a bow around the people who are now taking me into their lives.

Because, in reality, social status doesn’t even exist. It is superficial because we all make it up. Society sucks most of the times. I don’t want to be a part of the bad part of it. I hope I learned from my mistakes.

Ein Gedanke zu “Awkward.

  1. Pingback: Was passiert, wenn du einen Job findest, den du liebst | NETTI WRITES

Kommentare & Meinungen / Comments & Opinions

